Nine Idols Gather To Hash Out Their Political Differences In “Idol Jihen” Anime Visual

Japan has 47 prefectural jurisdictions, all of which will be, at least in theory, represented by idols in winter’s politics musical anime, Idol Jihen. Nine of these sing the anime’s theme, and are featured in a new visual.  



SMILE ♥ X (Smile Kiss), an idol unit comprised of members from each of the different parties sings the theme. The group consists of Natsuki Hoshina (CV: Sarara Yashima), Shizuka Onimaru (CV: Mai Fuchigami), Sachie Kondo (CV: Reina Ueda), Mizuki Fudo (CV: Lynn), Sakurako Iizuka (CV: Yurika Kubo), Ume Momoi ( CV: Sayaka Nakaya), Kuruha Amou (CV: Yuuri Yoshida), Mika Kozuru (CV: Chinatsu Akasaki), and Ringo-sama†Yami (CV: Nozomi Yamamoto).


Cover art for this has also been previewed

TV Anime Opening Theme: “Utae! Ai no Kōyaku” (“Sing! Pledge of Love”)

Artist: SMILE ♥ X

Release Date: January 25, 2017

Price: 1,500 yen (limited edition, includes jacket-sized sticker), 1,200 yen (regular edition)


  1. “Utae! Ai no Kōyaku” (Idol Jihen opening theme)
  2. “That’s My Poli” (Idol Jihen mobile game opening theme)
  3. “Utae! Ai no Kōyaku” off-vocal
  4. “That’s My Poli” off-vocal




Bonus sticker


TV Anime Ending Theme: “Respect”

Artists: Natsuki Hoshina (CV: Sarara Yashima), Shizuka Onimaru (CV: Mai Fuchigami)

Release Date: February 22, 2017

Price: 1,500 (limited edition featuring cover art sticker), 1,200 yen (regular edition)


  1. “Respect” (Idol Jihen ending theme)
  2. Untitled Song
  3. “Respect” off-vocal
  4. Untitled Song off-vocal



Idol Jihen is directed by Daisuke Yoshida and features animation by MAPPA and VOLN. The series is set in a parallel world in the country of Nippon, where corrupt political parties have failed to address problems such as pollution, income inequality, and caring for the country’s elderly. To help meet these challenges, groups of idol pop singers campaign to represent their prefectures and to make the people of Nippon smile again.



Idol Jihen will broadcast in Japan according to the following schedule:


  • Tokyo MX: every Sunday during the 23:30 time slot beginning on January 08, 2017.
  • Tochigi TV: every Sunday during the 23:30 time slot beginning on January 08, 2017.
  • BS Fuji: every Monday during the 24:00 time slot beginning on January 09, 2017.
  • Sun TV: every Monday during the 25:30 time slot beginning on January 09, 2017.
  • Gunma TV: every Tuesday during the 22:30 time slot beginning on January 10, 2017. 




Scott Green is editor and reporter for anime and manga at geek entertainment site Ain’t It Cool News. Follow him on Twitter at @aicnanime.